University of Delaware: endowment and investment office

University of Delaware reports USD 2.06 billion in nacubo respondent endowment value for FY2025 survey reporting date. Balance source

Delaware's FY2025 investment report gives a 9.0% endowment return, against 9.7% for its policy benchmark. Its marketable investments, which form more than half the portfolio, returned 12.8%. The annual report also gives an 8.0% annualized result over twenty-nine years. A twenty-nine-year number is not a ten-year return and retains its own horizon. Official report

Key facts

Reported value
USD 2.06 billion
As of
FY2025 survey reporting date
Portfolio
Endowment
Investment office
University of Delaware Investments Office
Management model
In-house Investments Office
Portfolio facts. University of Delaware
Portfolio facts. University of Delaware
Data through FY2025

Balance reference

Endowment size and reporting scope

The endowment balance is a stock of resources at a particular date. Investment income and appropriations are flows measured across a period. A closing balance can rise through new gifts, retained gains or transfers, and can fall through spending and market losses. Those movements affect the scale of support available in future budgets. Percentage performance requires a return calculation that accounts for cash flows; dividing the dollar change by the opening balance creates a different measure. Financial reporting basis

The survey identifies the respondent as University of Delaware. Its investment report uses the portfolio name Endowment. The balance history follows the survey respondent, while performance follows the named portfolio. Endowed gifts may carry individual purposes even when they are invested together. The investment office can pool those funds for management and still account for each beneficiary separately. A change in the endowment balance includes gifts, appropriations and transfers alongside gains and losses on investments. Official report

Endowment value over time. University of Delaware. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Endowment value over time. University of Delaware. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Fiscal yearSurvey endowment, USD millions
FY20161,261.8
FY20171,364.1
FY20181,413.2
FY20191,466.1
FY20201,453.2
FY20211,957.8
FY20221,781.2
FY20231,819.8
FY20241,929.8
FY20252,056.3

The endowment's reported survey value moved from USD 1,261.8 million to USD 2,056.3 million across these observations. This 63.0% change includes gains and losses on investments along with gifts, spending and transfers. NACUBO historical values FY2025 respondent table

Investment returns

PortfolioPeriod endHorizonReported return
EndowmentJune 30, 20251 year9%

Performance report

Fee basis: Fee treatment is not specified in this disclosure.

Spending policy and payout

The investment report describes support for endowment beneficiaries and investment risk controls. It evaluates performance in the context of the portfolio's permanent spending role. Annual distributions depend on the university's appropriation policy and each fund's purpose, rather than on the amount of unrealized appreciation alone. Spending disclosure

Spending reaches the beneficiary through the institution's appropriation process. Donor purposes continue to govern the use of the money after it leaves the investment pool. The reported payout and policy percentage answer different questions because their periods and denominators differ. Distribution basis

Spending authority and investment liquidity have different roles. An appropriation permits resources to support the designated activity. The investment portfolio must also be able to deliver the cash needed for that support and for existing commitments. Private-fund valuations, redemption terms and capital calls affect that timing. A single closing market value does not show all those demands. The spending formula and audited fund categories provide additional context for the amount reaching operations. Spending and reporting scope

Governance and investment office

The Investments Office manages the endowment and funds invested alongside it for long-term university purposes. The report discusses marketable and private investments separately. Its passive reference portfolio uses 60% global stocks and 40% global bonds for the long-run illustration. Investment governance

Federal excise tax on investment income

Public Law 119-21 changed IRC 4968 for tax years beginning after December 31, 2025. An applicable institution must have at least 3,000 tuition-paying students in the preceding tax year, with more than half located in the United States. Its student-adjusted endowment must be at least $500,000. The rate is 1.4% from $500,000 through $750,000 per student, 4% above $750,000 through $2 million, and 8% above $2 million. Enacted law, Section 70415

The tax applies to net investment income. Student-adjusted endowment uses the prior year's fair value of assets other than those used directly for exempt purposes, with statutory student-count and related-organization rules. Dividing the headline endowment by a fall enrollment number can give a different result. A rate on investment income also differs from a spending-policy percentage applied to average assets.

FY2025 size-band comparison

The FY2025 NACUBO respondent value of USD 2,056.3 million places this reporting entity in the $1B to $5B band. The published group contains 125 respondents. Its average annualized five-year return was 10.8%, its ten-year average was 8.0%, and its average effective spending rate was 4.5%. These are survey averages for FY2025. Respondent counts Average net returns Spending-rate table

NCSE measureFY2025 average
One-year net return11.0%
Five-year annualized net return10.8%
Ten-year annualized net return8.0%
Effective spending rate4.5%
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $1B to $5B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $1B to $5B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025

NCSE's figures are size-band averages, rather than medians or the institution's policy targets. The allocation graphic uses the published survey categories and identifies the rounding difference. A single year's result and a trailing annualized return measure different periods. Survey allocation definitions

The NCSE allocation groups combine several underlying investment strategies. Alternatives can include private capital, hedge funds and real assets, so matching that broad percentage does not imply matching individual holdings or liquidity. The size-band return is an average of respondent results. It describes a survey group for a common period and does not replace the institution's own investment-policy benchmark. Trailing five- and ten-year returns are annualized compound results, while the one-year return measures the final fiscal year alone. NCSE definitions

Public records and reporting dates

The official investment report supplies the portfolio figures and measurement dates on this page. The institution or related reporting entity also has a public nonprofit filing record. Tax-return assets and expenses cover that legal filer and can be broader than its endowment. Nonprofit filing record

The ProPublica API identifies the legal filer as University Of Delaware, EIN 516000297. Its available Form 990 data for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2023 report total filer assets of USD 4,485.452 million, revenue of USD 1,523.134 million, expenses of USD 1,491.112 million. These figures cover the legal filer. Its assets and operating activity can include resources outside the endowment, and this filing period predates the investment figures above. ProPublica structured filing data

Sources

  1. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Endowment-Market-Values-for-US-and-Canadian-Institutions-FINAL.xlsx
  2. https://www.udel.edu/about/investments-office/endowment-annual-report/
  3. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/research/Final-Endowment-Market-Values--2023-to-1974-Revised.xlsx
  4. https://www.congress.gov/119/plaws/publ21/PLAW-119publ21.pdf
  5. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Number-of-NCSE-Participants-FINAL.pdf
  6. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--10-Year-Returns-by-Size-and-Type-FINAL.pdf
  7. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Spending-Rates-FINAL.pdf
  8. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Summary-Asset-Allocations-FINAL.pdf
  9. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/516000297
  10. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/api/v2/organizations/516000297.json
  11. https://endowments.com/
  12. https://familyoffices.com/

Related profiles

Lists that include University of Delaware

Endowments by Size Band study

University of Delaware Endowment Profile | Endowments.com
Family Office Club Events
Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot): (808) 600-9260
Endowments.com
Loading the directory…
Could not load data/endowments.json ({{ err }}).
Family Office Club: since 2007, 17M members, 340+ events

Endowment Fund Directory

The #1 most in-depth guide to endowment funds with in-depth profiles, infographics, resources, and research

What's inside Endowments.com

Directory · Research · Resources
Richard C. Wilson

Everything on this site is free.

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I would rather build a real relationship than sell you something. I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site.

Endowments are some of the most studied investors in the world, and the numbers are scattered across financial reports, press releases and student newspapers. This site puts each endowment's figures in one place, from its own reports first, names every source, and says plainly when a number has not been published.

Years operating Family Office Club19
In-person events a year16
Events hosted300+
Member transactions$1B+
Start here

What are you trying to do?

I run a fund and want endowment LPs
Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in.
For Fund Managers
I work in an endowment investment office
Is your profile right? Correct it or claim it. It is free.
For Investment Offices
I am a trustee, donor or researcher
Compare value, returns and spending across endowments, with the source and the date behind every number.
For Trustees and Researchers
Benchmark study

{{ study.title }}

{{ study.desc }}

{{ studyImg }}
Source: NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 · Data through FY2025

Featured guides

All {{ guideCount }} guides
{{ g.topic }}
{{ g.title }}
{{ g.desc }}
From the directory

By type

Playbooks

Events

Meet endowment and family office capital in person.

All events

We run 16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, in NYC, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills. 300 of them over 19 years.

"The Family Office Club is unique as a community. The thing I admire about you is that you started with your family, making that a priority."

Todd Heiner · centimillionaire, co-founder of Express Locations
Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so.

Read the methodology

Endowment directory

{{ dirIntro }}

{{ rowsLabel }}Clear filters
{{ h.label }} {{ h.arrow }}{{ h.label }}
{{ r.name }}{{ r.name }} {{ r.type }} {{ r.loc }} {{ r.size }} {{ r.fy }}

Size is the tracked endowment market value in USD, mostly from the NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 public table. Linked names open a full profile with the institution's own latest figures, dates and currency.

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ s.url }}

Lists that include {{ p.institution }}

{{ art.kicker }}

{{ art.title }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Download the data

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ art.moreTitle }}

Guides

{{ guidesIntro }}

{{ gg.topic }}

{{ gg.count }}

Page not found

This page does not exist or has moved.

Endowment directoryGuidesHome
Home / Research

{{ rankTitle }}

Ranked from published profiles only, using each endowment's latest reported fiscal year. The basis and date sit next to every number. {{ stats.queued }} endowments are still in research and will be added as their profiles publish.

# Endowment Country Value Return Fiscal year and date
{{ r.rank }} {{ r.name }} {{ r.country }} {{ r.value }} {{ r.ret }} {{ r.fy }}, {{ r.asOf }}
Home / Playbooks

What are you actually dealing with right now?

Practical guides for raising from, working with and running endowments. Each one is being written now and will publish here, free.

{{ pb.title }}
{{ pb.blurb }}
In research
Home / For Fund Managers

Tell me your situation.

Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in. I read these myself.

Text (808) 600-9260Not an AI bot WhatsApp(808) 600-9260 EmailRichard@Endowments.com
Useful to include
Fund size, strategy, asset class and geography
Fund number and track record
Endowment, foundation or institutional LPs already in
Which endowments on this site you think fit, and why
Home / For Investment Offices

Is your profile right?

Correct it or claim it. It is free. Send the page, the change and a public source, and we will update it and note the date.

Report a correctionRichard@Endowments.com Claim your profileAdd your latest report, team and how managers should reach you Text or WhatsApp(808) 600-9260
Home / For Trustees and Researchers

Compare endowments on the same terms.

For board members, investment committee members, donors, students and journalists. Every profile shows value, return, spending and allocation with the fiscal year and source next to each figure.

Largest endowmentsBy value, latest fiscal year Returns by fiscal yearRanked by latest reported return Reading an endowment reportWhat each headline figure counts Glossary{{ glossaryCount }} endowment terms, defined
Home / Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. We start with the institution's own financial report, investment office report and press release, then official filings, then third-party reporting. Figures are tied to a fiscal year, because most endowments report once a year. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so rather than estimate it silently.

Status labels

Multiple sourcesTwo or more independent sources agree.
Single sourceOne source, usually the institution itself.
EstimateA third-party estimate or a conversion. Not stated by the institution.
PendingShown for structure; the figure or its source is still being confirmed.

Glossary

{{ g.term }}{{ g.def }}

Corrections

To report an error or ask for a change or removal, email Richard@Endowments.com or text (808) 600-9260.

Home / Answers

Answers

Short answers to the questions people ask most about endowment funds.

{{ a.q }}

{{ a.a }}

Home / Events

Family Office Club events

16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, plus monthly webinars. Run by Family Office Club.

{{ ev.date }} {{ ev.title }} {{ ev.place }}
See every event on FamilyOffices.com
Home / About

About Endowments.com

Richard C. Wilson

What this site is

Endowments.com is a research resource on university, college and foundation endowments. It profiles 775 endowments, including university, college, foundation and hospital endowments, built from each institution's own reports and public filings, and runs the Endowments by Size Band benchmark study. Every figure carries its source and date.

Richard C. Wilson, founder of the Family Office Club

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago at 26, as my 12th startup and the first one that worked. All three of my daughters are in the business with me now. My father raised $1 billion for non-profits before I ever started, so I grew up watching this.

Since then: 300+ in-person events, 1,500 investors on stage, 250+ family offices created or formalized, 46 transactions off my own balance sheet, and CIO of a $180M single family office.

I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site. I built it because endowment figures are spread across hundreds of reports and press releases, and few places put them side by side with sources.

Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com.

Keep exploring

Richard C. Wilson

{{ contact.title }}

I'm Richard C. Wilson. I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com. Thank you.

{{ contact.cta }}

This page is for general information only and is not investment, tax or legal advice. Figures come from the public sources listed and may have changed.