Case Western Reserve University: endowment and investment office

Case Western Reserve University reports USD 2.50 billion in endowment investment pool including outside trusts, rounded for June 30, 2025. Balance source

CWRU reports approximately $2.5 billion in its June 2025 endowment investment scope, including funds held by others in outside trusts. The program serves more than 3,000 individual permanently restricted funds alongside board-designated and excess operating funds appropriate for long-term investment. Its published allocation distinguishes public and private equity from absolute return, real assets, and fixed income or cash. Official report

Key facts

Reported value
USD 2.50 billion
As of
June 30, 2025
Portfolio
Pooled endowment
Investment office
Case Western Reserve University investment function
Spending policy
4.7% on stated policy basis
Portfolio facts. Case Western Reserve University
Portfolio facts. Case Western Reserve University
Data through FY2025

Balance reference

Endowment size and reporting scope

A managed pool is an investment vehicle with participating accounts. Its market value can include assets whose owner intends to spend them on a different timetable from a perpetual gift. The endowment balance identifies the funds held for endowed purposes; the wider institutional balance sheet also includes buildings, receivables and obligations. Donor restrictions attach to the account and its use of income even when investments are selected together. Accounting scope therefore remains part of the meaning of each reported figure. Financial reporting basis

The latest balance is labelled endowment investment pool including outside trusts, rounded and is dated June 30, 2025. The return series identifies the portfolio as Pooled endowment. The historical survey below retains the respondent scope reported to NACUBO. A pooled investment vehicle can include working capital, reserves or assets for associated organizations alongside endowed gifts. Each participating fund owns its own economic interest in that vehicle. The pool's market value, the institution's endowment balance and the investment manager's corporate assets describe different quantities. Official report

Endowment value over time. Case Western Reserve University. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Endowment value over time. Case Western Reserve University. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Fiscal yearSurvey endowment, USD millions
FY20161,662.7
FY20171,798.8
FY20181,886.8
FY20191,866.5
FY20201,850.8
FY20212,354.2
FY20222,188.2
FY20232,260.6
FY20242,396.7
FY20252,520.1

The survey series begins at USD 1,662.7 million in FY2016 and ends at USD 2,520.1 million in FY2025. Its USD 857.4 million change is measured after gifts, spending and other balance movements. NACUBO historical values FY2025 respondent table

Investment returns

PortfolioPeriod endHorizonReported return
Pooled endowmentJune 30, 20251 year8.53%
Pooled endowmentJune 30, 20255 years, annualized9.29%
Pooled endowmentJune 30, 202510 years, annualized7.12%

Performance report

Fee basis: Fee treatment is not specified in this disclosure.

The 1-year result is 8.53%, while the 10-year result is 7.12% annually. The trailing periods share the same end date and overlap; their percentages are not added together. A long-term annualized return describes compound growth over the full period. The year-end asset balance also reflects money entering or leaving the portfolio. Return series

Asset allocation

Portfolio allocation. Actual endowment allocation at June 30, 2025
Portfolio allocation. Actual endowment allocation at June 30, 2025
Source: case.edu · Data through FY2025
Published categoryWeight
Public equity41%
Private equity24%
Absolute return18%
Real assets11%
Fixed income and cash6%

Actual endowment allocation at June 30, 2025. Allocation report

Spending policy and payout

FY2025 endowment spending was $96.4 million, following $97.2 million in FY2024. The published spending rate was 4.70% of an individual endowment fund's twenty-quarter average corpus. The board-approved methodology also considers a rolling ten-year component. Spending disclosure

Spending from the endowment. Reported endowment distributions
Spending from the endowment. Reported endowment distributions
Source: case.edu · Data through FY2025
Fiscal yearReported endowment distributions, USD millions
FY202181.4
FY202284.1
FY202389.2
FY202497.2
FY202596.4

Distribution report

The policy formula controls how the operating budget receives support across market cycles. Its averaging base can differ from the latest fiscal-year-end balance. The dollar distribution records support for a stated year, while a budget-support percentage measures the institution's reliance on that support. Distribution basis

The operating budget records the use of endowment support alongside other revenue. The share of a budget supplied by the endowment measures institutional reliance. The spending-policy rate instead measures an appropriation against the institution's stated asset base. The two percentages can move differently when expenses or other revenues change. A reported dollar distribution is useful alongside both, provided that the reporting period and beneficiary scope stay attached to it. Spending and reporting scope

Governance and investment office

The Board of Trustees approves the spending policy for pooled investments. The investment program models market and risk exposures against absolute, relative and risk-adjusted objectives. Its report describes separate objectives for operations, purchasing power and insulation from short-term market fluctuations. Investment governance

Federal excise tax on investment income

Public Law 119-21 changed IRC 4968 for tax years beginning after December 31, 2025. An applicable institution must have at least 3,000 tuition-paying students in the preceding tax year, with more than half located in the United States. Its student-adjusted endowment must be at least $500,000. The rate is 1.4% from $500,000 through $750,000 per student, 4% above $750,000 through $2 million, and 8% above $2 million. Enacted law, Section 70415

The tax applies to net investment income. Student-adjusted endowment uses the prior year's fair value of assets other than those used directly for exempt purposes, with statutory student-count and related-organization rules. Dividing the headline endowment by a fall enrollment number can give a different result. A rate on investment income also differs from a spending-policy percentage applied to average assets.

FY2025 size-band comparison

The FY2025 NACUBO respondent value of USD 2,520.1 million places this reporting entity in the $1B to $5B band. The published group contains 125 respondents. Its average annualized five-year return was 10.8%, its ten-year average was 8.0%, and its average effective spending rate was 4.5%. These are survey averages for FY2025. Respondent counts Average net returns Spending-rate table

NCSE measureFY2025 average
One-year net return11.0%
Five-year annualized net return10.8%
Ten-year annualized net return8.0%
Effective spending rate4.5%
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $1B to $5B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $1B to $5B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Institution and size-band allocation. FY2025 broad groupings; the survey Other category and rounding are included in the third category.
Institution and size-band allocation. FY2025 broad groupings; the survey Other category and rounding are included in the third category.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025

The size band follows the survey's FY2025 respondent balance. It does not change when a newer pool figure covers additional assets. Survey respondent values and managed-pool values retain their separate scopes. Survey allocation definitions

The NCSE allocation groups combine several underlying investment strategies. Alternatives can include private capital, hedge funds and real assets, so matching that broad percentage does not imply matching individual holdings or liquidity. The size-band return is an average of respondent results. It describes a survey group for a common period and does not replace the institution's own investment-policy benchmark. Trailing five- and ten-year returns are annualized compound results, while the one-year return measures the final fiscal year alone. NCSE definitions

Public records and reporting dates

The official investment report supplies the portfolio figures and measurement dates on this page. The institution or related reporting entity also has a public nonprofit filing record. Tax-return assets and expenses cover that legal filer and can be broader than its endowment. Nonprofit filing record

The ProPublica API identifies the legal filer as Case Western Reserve University, EIN 341018992. Its available Form 990 data for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2023 report total filer assets of USD 4,261.815 million, revenue of USD 1,525.353 million, expenses of USD 1,454.249 million. These figures cover the legal filer. Its assets and operating activity can include resources outside the endowment, and this filing period predates the investment figures above. ProPublica structured filing data

Sources

  1. https://case.edu/investments/sites/default/files/2026-01/FY25_Endowment_Report.pdf
  2. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/research/Final-Endowment-Market-Values--2023-to-1974-Revised.xlsx
  3. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Endowment-Market-Values-for-US-and-Canadian-Institutions-FINAL.xlsx
  4. https://www.congress.gov/119/plaws/publ21/PLAW-119publ21.pdf
  5. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Number-of-NCSE-Participants-FINAL.pdf
  6. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--10-Year-Returns-by-Size-and-Type-FINAL.pdf
  7. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Spending-Rates-FINAL.pdf
  8. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Summary-Asset-Allocations-FINAL.pdf
  9. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/341018992
  10. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/api/v2/organizations/341018992.json
  11. https://endowments.com/
  12. https://familyoffices.com/

Related profiles

Lists that include Case Western Reserve University

Endowments by Size Band study

Case Western Reserve University Endowment | Endowments.com
Family Office Club Events
Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot): (808) 600-9260
Endowments.com
Loading the directory…
Could not load data/endowments.json ({{ err }}).
Family Office Club: since 2007, 17M members, 340+ events

Endowment Fund Directory

The #1 most in-depth guide to endowment funds with in-depth profiles, infographics, resources, and research

What's inside Endowments.com

Directory · Research · Resources
Richard C. Wilson

Everything on this site is free.

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I would rather build a real relationship than sell you something. I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site.

Endowments are some of the most studied investors in the world, and the numbers are scattered across financial reports, press releases and student newspapers. This site puts each endowment's figures in one place, from its own reports first, names every source, and says plainly when a number has not been published.

Years operating Family Office Club19
In-person events a year16
Events hosted300+
Member transactions$1B+
Start here

What are you trying to do?

I run a fund and want endowment LPs
Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in.
For Fund Managers
I work in an endowment investment office
Is your profile right? Correct it or claim it. It is free.
For Investment Offices
I am a trustee, donor or researcher
Compare value, returns and spending across endowments, with the source and the date behind every number.
For Trustees and Researchers
Benchmark study

{{ study.title }}

{{ study.desc }}

{{ studyImg }}
Source: NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 · Data through FY2025

Featured guides

All {{ guideCount }} guides
{{ g.topic }}
{{ g.title }}
{{ g.desc }}
From the directory

By type

Playbooks

Events

Meet endowment and family office capital in person.

All events

We run 16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, in NYC, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills. 300 of them over 19 years.

"The Family Office Club is unique as a community. The thing I admire about you is that you started with your family, making that a priority."

Todd Heiner · centimillionaire, co-founder of Express Locations
Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so.

Read the methodology

Endowment directory

{{ dirIntro }}

{{ rowsLabel }}Clear filters
{{ h.label }} {{ h.arrow }}{{ h.label }}
{{ r.name }}{{ r.name }} {{ r.type }} {{ r.loc }} {{ r.size }} {{ r.fy }}

Size is the tracked endowment market value in USD, mostly from the NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 public table. Linked names open a full profile with the institution's own latest figures, dates and currency.

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ s.url }}

Lists that include {{ p.institution }}

{{ art.kicker }}

{{ art.title }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Download the data

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ art.moreTitle }}

Guides

{{ guidesIntro }}

{{ gg.topic }}

{{ gg.count }}

Page not found

This page does not exist or has moved.

Endowment directoryGuidesHome
Home / Research

{{ rankTitle }}

Ranked from published profiles only, using each endowment's latest reported fiscal year. The basis and date sit next to every number. {{ stats.queued }} endowments are still in research and will be added as their profiles publish.

# Endowment Country Value Return Fiscal year and date
{{ r.rank }} {{ r.name }} {{ r.country }} {{ r.value }} {{ r.ret }} {{ r.fy }}, {{ r.asOf }}
Home / Playbooks

What are you actually dealing with right now?

Practical guides for raising from, working with and running endowments. Each one is being written now and will publish here, free.

{{ pb.title }}
{{ pb.blurb }}
In research
Home / For Fund Managers

Tell me your situation.

Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in. I read these myself.

Text (808) 600-9260Not an AI bot WhatsApp(808) 600-9260 EmailRichard@Endowments.com
Useful to include
Fund size, strategy, asset class and geography
Fund number and track record
Endowment, foundation or institutional LPs already in
Which endowments on this site you think fit, and why
Home / For Investment Offices

Is your profile right?

Correct it or claim it. It is free. Send the page, the change and a public source, and we will update it and note the date.

Report a correctionRichard@Endowments.com Claim your profileAdd your latest report, team and how managers should reach you Text or WhatsApp(808) 600-9260
Home / For Trustees and Researchers

Compare endowments on the same terms.

For board members, investment committee members, donors, students and journalists. Every profile shows value, return, spending and allocation with the fiscal year and source next to each figure.

Largest endowmentsBy value, latest fiscal year Returns by fiscal yearRanked by latest reported return Reading an endowment reportWhat each headline figure counts Glossary{{ glossaryCount }} endowment terms, defined
Home / Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. We start with the institution's own financial report, investment office report and press release, then official filings, then third-party reporting. Figures are tied to a fiscal year, because most endowments report once a year. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so rather than estimate it silently.

Status labels

Multiple sourcesTwo or more independent sources agree.
Single sourceOne source, usually the institution itself.
EstimateA third-party estimate or a conversion. Not stated by the institution.
PendingShown for structure; the figure or its source is still being confirmed.

Glossary

{{ g.term }}{{ g.def }}

Corrections

To report an error or ask for a change or removal, email Richard@Endowments.com or text (808) 600-9260.

Home / Answers

Answers

Short answers to the questions people ask most about endowment funds.

{{ a.q }}

{{ a.a }}

Home / Events

Family Office Club events

16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, plus monthly webinars. Run by Family Office Club.

{{ ev.date }} {{ ev.title }} {{ ev.place }}
See every event on FamilyOffices.com
Home / About

About Endowments.com

Richard C. Wilson

What this site is

Endowments.com is a research resource on university, college and foundation endowments. It profiles 775 endowments, including university, college, foundation and hospital endowments, built from each institution's own reports and public filings, and runs the Endowments by Size Band benchmark study. Every figure carries its source and date.

Richard C. Wilson, founder of the Family Office Club

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago at 26, as my 12th startup and the first one that worked. All three of my daughters are in the business with me now. My father raised $1 billion for non-profits before I ever started, so I grew up watching this.

Since then: 300+ in-person events, 1,500 investors on stage, 250+ family offices created or formalized, 46 transactions off my own balance sheet, and CIO of a $180M single family office.

I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site. I built it because endowment figures are spread across hundreds of reports and press releases, and few places put them side by side with sources.

Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com.

Keep exploring

Richard C. Wilson

{{ contact.title }}

I'm Richard C. Wilson. I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com. Thank you.

{{ contact.cta }}

This page is for general information only and is not investment, tax or legal advice. Figures come from the public sources listed and may have changed.