Winthrop University Foundation: endowment and investment office

Winthrop University Foundation reports USD 89.9 million in foundation net assets designated for perpetual endowments for December 31, 2025. Balance source

Winthrop University Foundation's December 31, 2025 statements report $89.905835 million in net assets designated to be held in perpetuity from endowments, including $2.998163 million available for spending under its policy. None of its 520 endowments were underwater at that date. Its calendar-year statement and the NACUBO survey have separate measurement dates. The foundation's wider J.P. Morgan account statement covers a broader investment pool. Official report

Key facts

Reported value
USD 89.9 million
As of
December 31, 2025
Portfolio
Foundation net assets designated for perpetual endowments
Location
Rock Hill, SC
Spending policy
Up to 4% of the five-year trailing average
Portfolio facts. Winthrop University Foundation
Portfolio facts. Winthrop University Foundation
Data through FY2025

Balance reference

Endowment size and reporting scope

For Winthrop University Foundation, the FY2025 survey records assets of USD 92.066 million. This is a closing asset balance. New gifts, investment results and distributions can all change it during the year. The respondent may hold endowed funds directly or through an affiliated organization. Restrictions attached to those funds continue to govern their use after they are invested together. Total institutional assets can also include buildings and operating resources. Survey scope and definitions

The official USD 89.906 million figure and the FY2025 survey's USD 92.066 million describe their respective dates and reporting categories. The official balance retains its stated label, foundation net assets designated for perpetual endowments. Official financial scope

Endowment value over time. Winthrop University Foundation. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Endowment value over time. Winthrop University Foundation. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Fiscal yearSurvey endowment, USD millions
FY201641.692
FY201750.277
FY201854.521
FY201957.949
FY202062.349
FY202180.734
FY202269.394
FY202375.016
FY202482.580
FY202592.066

The FY2025 survey value for Winthrop University Foundation is USD 92.066 million, compared with USD 82.580 million for FY2024. The reported balance rose by USD 9.486 million, or 11.49%, from FY2024. It includes changes in investments as well as additions and distributions. NACUBO explicitly distinguishes this change in market value from an investment rate of return. FY2025 respondent values and definitions

The available history begins in FY2016 at USD 41.692 million and ends in FY2025 at USD 92.066 million. The change across those observations is USD 50.374 million. The smallest reported balance in the displayed series is USD 41.692 million in FY2016; the largest is USD 92.066 million in FY2025. The displayed observations are year-end asset balances. NACUBO historical workbook

Asset allocation

Portfolio allocation. Consolidated J.P. Morgan investment accounts at August 31, 2026, broader than endowment alone
Portfolio allocation. Consolidated J.P. Morgan investment accounts at August 31, 2026, broader than endowment alone
Source: winthrop.edu · Data through FY2025
Published categoryWeight
Equity69%
Alternative assets9%
Cash and fixed income22%

Consolidated J.P. Morgan investment accounts at August 31, 2026, broader than endowment alone. Allocation report

Spending policy and payout

The December 2025 financial statements describe an annual distribution of up to 4% of the five-year average trailing endowment balance. The foundation's management fee is separately assessed. A release of funds from restriction measures the satisfaction of donor purposes and is not automatically the same as an endowment appropriation. The chart uses the published 4% policy ceiling, without treating releases as a complete payout series. Spending disclosure

Spending policy rate. Applied to the valuation base described in the spending policy.
Spending policy rate. Applied to the valuation base described in the spending policy.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025

For Winthrop University Foundation, a closing survey balance and an annual appropriation answer different questions. The survey records how much was held at the reporting date. A spending formula determines support using the valuations specified in that policy. A beneficiary can also spend an approved distribution in a later period. This timing can separate the institution's appropriation from the cash recorded as an expense. Spending measures

Governance and investment office

The Foundation's Investment Committee reviews investment policy and the spending rule annually. Its public governance documents separate the foundation from Winthrop University. The posted investment account summary describes assets custodied or managed at J.P. Morgan; it does not state that every account belongs to the permanent endowment. Investment governance

Federal excise tax on investment income

Public Law 119-21 changed Section 4968 for tax years beginning after December 31, 2025. Applicable private institutions must have at least 3,000 tuition-paying students in the preceding tax year, with more than half located in the United States, and student-adjusted endowment of at least $500,000. The rates are 1.4% from $500,000 through $750,000 per student, 4% above $750,000 through $2 million, and 8% above $2 million. Enacted law, Section 70415

Section 4968 excludes state colleges and universities described in Section 511(a)(2)(B). Supporting foundations retain their own legal and filing identities, with related-organization rules read alongside the public-university exclusion. A foundation's public endowment value does not, by itself, assign it a private-college tax tier.

Section 4968 taxes net investment income; the spending policy governs distributions.

FY2025 size-band comparison

The FY2025 survey value of USD 92.066 million places this respondent in the $50M to $100M band. The published band contains 96 respondents and USD 7.2 billion of aggregate assets. Its average five-year annualized net return is 10.1%, and its ten-year average is 7.5%. NCSE size groups NCSE average net returns

NCSE measureFY2025 average
One-year net return11.1%
Five-year annualized net return10.1%
Ten-year annualized net return7.5%
Effective spending rate5.5%
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $50M to $100M average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $50M to $100M average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025

NCSE's allocation categories combine strategies with different liquidity and valuation practices. Its Alternatives group can include private capital, hedge funds and real assets. Matching that broad weight would not establish identical holdings. The chart shows the FY2025 NCSE $50M to $100M group's average allocation. Published category weights are shown with an explicit rounding difference so the full bar totals 100%. NCSE allocation definitions

Public records and reporting dates

The ProPublica nonprofit API identifies the legal filer as Winthrop University Foundation, EIN 237378001. Its available filing for the year ended December 31, 2023 reports total filer assets of USD 82.758 million, revenue of USD 5.236 million, expenses of USD 5.212 million. These are filer-wide amounts, which can include buildings, operating resources and other assets outside the endowment. The filing period is retained separately from the current investment disclosures. ProPublica structured filing data

Sources

  1. https://www.winthrop.edu/uploadedFiles/foundation/WUFFinancialStatement25Final.pdf
  2. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Endowment-Market-Values-for-US-and-Canadian-Institutions-FINAL.xlsx
  3. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/research/Final-Endowment-Market-Values--2023-to-1974-Revised.xlsx
  4. https://www.winthrop.edu/uploadedFiles/foundation/8.31.26JPM.pdf
  5. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Spending-Rates-FINAL.pdf
  6. https://www.congress.gov/119/plaws/publ21/PLAW-119publ21.pdf
  7. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Number-of-NCSE-Participants-FINAL.pdf
  8. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--10-Year-Returns-by-Size-and-Type-FINAL.pdf
  9. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Summary-Asset-Allocations-FINAL.pdf
  10. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/api/v2/organizations/237378001.json

Related profiles

Lists that include Winthrop University Foundation

Endowments by Size Band study

Winthrop University Foundation Endowment Profile | Endowments.com
Family Office Club Events
Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot): (808) 600-9260
Endowments.com
Loading the directory…
Could not load data/endowments.json ({{ err }}).
Family Office Club: since 2007, 17M members, 340+ events

Endowment Fund Directory

The #1 most in-depth guide to endowment funds with in-depth profiles, infographics, resources, and research

What's inside Endowments.com

Directory · Research · Resources
Richard C. Wilson

Everything on this site is free.

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I would rather build a real relationship than sell you something. I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site.

Endowments are some of the most studied investors in the world, and the numbers are scattered across financial reports, press releases and student newspapers. This site puts each endowment's figures in one place, from its own reports first, names every source, and says plainly when a number has not been published.

Years operating Family Office Club19
In-person events a year16
Events hosted300+
Member transactions$1B+
Start here

What are you trying to do?

I run a fund and want endowment LPs
Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in.
For Fund Managers
I work in an endowment investment office
Is your profile right? Correct it or claim it. It is free.
For Investment Offices
I am a trustee, donor or researcher
Compare value, returns and spending across endowments, with the source and the date behind every number.
For Trustees and Researchers
Benchmark study

{{ study.title }}

{{ study.desc }}

{{ studyImg }}
Source: NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 · Data through FY2025

Featured guides

All {{ guideCount }} guides
{{ g.topic }}
{{ g.title }}
{{ g.desc }}
From the directory

By type

Playbooks

Events

Meet endowment and family office capital in person.

All events

We run 16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, in NYC, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills. 300 of them over 19 years.

"The Family Office Club is unique as a community. The thing I admire about you is that you started with your family, making that a priority."

Todd Heiner · centimillionaire, co-founder of Express Locations
Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so.

Read the methodology

Endowment directory

{{ dirIntro }}

{{ rowsLabel }}Clear filters
{{ h.label }} {{ h.arrow }}{{ h.label }}
{{ r.name }}{{ r.name }} {{ r.type }} {{ r.loc }} {{ r.size }} {{ r.fy }}

Size is the tracked endowment market value in USD, mostly from the NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 public table. Linked names open a full profile with the institution's own latest figures, dates and currency.

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ s.url }}

Lists that include {{ p.institution }}

{{ art.kicker }}

{{ art.title }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Download the data

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ art.moreTitle }}

Guides

{{ guidesIntro }}

{{ gg.topic }}

{{ gg.count }}

Page not found

This page does not exist or has moved.

Endowment directoryGuidesHome
Home / Research

{{ rankTitle }}

Ranked from published profiles only, using each endowment's latest reported fiscal year. The basis and date sit next to every number. {{ stats.queued }} endowments are still in research and will be added as their profiles publish.

# Endowment Country Value Return Fiscal year and date
{{ r.rank }} {{ r.name }} {{ r.country }} {{ r.value }} {{ r.ret }} {{ r.fy }}, {{ r.asOf }}
Home / Playbooks

What are you actually dealing with right now?

Practical guides for raising from, working with and running endowments. Each one is being written now and will publish here, free.

{{ pb.title }}
{{ pb.blurb }}
In research
Home / For Fund Managers

Tell me your situation.

Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in. I read these myself.

Text (808) 600-9260Not an AI bot WhatsApp(808) 600-9260 EmailRichard@Endowments.com
Useful to include
Fund size, strategy, asset class and geography
Fund number and track record
Endowment, foundation or institutional LPs already in
Which endowments on this site you think fit, and why
Home / For Investment Offices

Is your profile right?

Correct it or claim it. It is free. Send the page, the change and a public source, and we will update it and note the date.

Report a correctionRichard@Endowments.com Claim your profileAdd your latest report, team and how managers should reach you Text or WhatsApp(808) 600-9260
Home / For Trustees and Researchers

Compare endowments on the same terms.

For board members, investment committee members, donors, students and journalists. Every profile shows value, return, spending and allocation with the fiscal year and source next to each figure.

Largest endowmentsBy value, latest fiscal year Returns by fiscal yearRanked by latest reported return Reading an endowment reportWhat each headline figure counts Glossary{{ glossaryCount }} endowment terms, defined
Home / Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. We start with the institution's own financial report, investment office report and press release, then official filings, then third-party reporting. Figures are tied to a fiscal year, because most endowments report once a year. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so rather than estimate it silently.

Status labels

Multiple sourcesTwo or more independent sources agree.
Single sourceOne source, usually the institution itself.
EstimateA third-party estimate or a conversion. Not stated by the institution.
PendingShown for structure; the figure or its source is still being confirmed.

Glossary

{{ g.term }}{{ g.def }}

Corrections

To report an error or ask for a change or removal, email Richard@Endowments.com or text (808) 600-9260.

Home / Answers

Answers

Short answers to the questions people ask most about endowment funds.

{{ a.q }}

{{ a.a }}

Home / Events

Family Office Club events

16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, plus monthly webinars. Run by Family Office Club.

{{ ev.date }} {{ ev.title }} {{ ev.place }}
See every event on FamilyOffices.com
Home / About

About Endowments.com

Richard C. Wilson

What this site is

Endowments.com is a research resource on university, college and foundation endowments. It profiles 775 endowments, including university, college, foundation and hospital endowments, built from each institution's own reports and public filings, and runs the Endowments by Size Band benchmark study. Every figure carries its source and date.

Richard C. Wilson, founder of the Family Office Club

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago at 26, as my 12th startup and the first one that worked. All three of my daughters are in the business with me now. My father raised $1 billion for non-profits before I ever started, so I grew up watching this.

Since then: 300+ in-person events, 1,500 investors on stage, 250+ family offices created or formalized, 46 transactions off my own balance sheet, and CIO of a $180M single family office.

I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site. I built it because endowment figures are spread across hundreds of reports and press releases, and few places put them side by side with sources.

Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com.

Keep exploring

Richard C. Wilson

{{ contact.title }}

I'm Richard C. Wilson. I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com. Thank you.

{{ contact.cta }}

This page is for general information only and is not investment, tax or legal advice. Figures come from the public sources listed and may have changed.