UCLA Foundation: endowment and investment office

UCLA Foundation reports USD 4.77 billion in nacubo respondent endowment value for FY2025 survey reporting date. Balance source

The UC annual endowment report separately lists UCLA Foundation. It reports a market value of $4,766.8 million for that foundation and gives its own return history. The foundation is separate from UCLA campus assets held in UC pools and from the full University of California system. Official report

Key facts

Reported value
USD 4.77 billion
As of
FY2025 survey reporting date
Portfolio
UCLA Foundation
Investment office
UCLA Foundation investment program
Portfolio facts. UCLA Foundation
Portfolio facts. UCLA Foundation
Data through FY2025

Balance reference

Endowment size and reporting scope

The survey identifies the respondent as UCLA Foundation. Its investment report uses the portfolio name UCLA Foundation. The balance history follows the survey respondent, while performance follows the named portfolio. Endowed gifts may carry individual purposes even when they are invested together. The investment office can pool those funds for management and still account for each beneficiary separately. A change in the endowment balance includes gifts, appropriations and transfers alongside gains and losses on investments. Official report

Endowment value over time. UCLA Foundation. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Endowment value over time. UCLA Foundation. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Fiscal yearSurvey endowment, USD millions
FY20161,803.7
FY20172,062.6
FY20182,522.6
FY20192,746.9
FY20202,880.2
FY20213,892.7
FY20223,560.7
FY20233,873.1
FY20244,298.6
FY20254,766.8

Across the reported FY2016 to FY2025 observations, the survey balance changed by USD 2,963.1 million (164.3%). This is balance growth; it includes the effect of new capital and distributions. NACUBO historical values FY2025 respondent table

Investment returns

PortfolioPeriod endHorizonReported return
UCLA FoundationJune 30, 20251 year11.6%
UCLA FoundationJune 30, 20255 years, annualized9.6%
UCLA FoundationJune 30, 202510 years, annualized7.3%

Performance report

Fee basis: Net returns, per UC endowment report.

The 1-year result is 11.6%, while the 10-year result is 7.3% annually. The trailing periods share the same end date and overlap; their percentages are not added together. A long-term annualized return describes compound growth over the full period. The year-end asset balance also reflects money entering or leaving the portfolio. Return series

Spending policy and payout

The report states a long-term objective of earning a real return sufficient to cover the foundation's spending rate, after costs and inflation. The return objective is not reported as an actual spending rate. Spending disclosure

A distribution is money made available for the fund's designated use. A policy rate uses the averaging base defined by the institution. Dividing the distribution by the latest closing balance would create another measure, so the published formula and the reported dollar amount retain their own labels. Distribution basis

Governance and investment office

The foundation has its own reporting entity and taxpayer identifier. The UC annual endowment report provides foundation-level investment information within its system-wide disclosures. Investment governance

Federal excise tax on investment income

The university endowment excise tax in IRC 4968 excludes state colleges and universities described in IRC 511(a)(2)(B). An affiliated foundation is a separate legal organization, rather than itself a tuition-charging college. Related-organization attribution rules must be read with that public-university exclusion. A foundation's Form 990 does not establish a private-college tax tier. Public Law 119-21, Section 70415

The 2025 law created private-college rates of 1.4%, 4% and 8% for tax years beginning after December 31, 2025. Those rates tax net investment income, not total assets. The ordinary private-foundation rate of 1.39% belongs to a different tax regime; it is not automatically imposed on every university-affiliated foundation. The institutional and foundation balances on this page keep their respective reporting scopes. IRS private-foundation rules

FY2025 size-band comparison

The FY2025 NACUBO respondent value of USD 4,766.8 million places this reporting entity in the $1B to $5B band. The published group contains 125 respondents. Its average annualized five-year return was 10.8%, its ten-year average was 8.0%, and its average effective spending rate was 4.5%. These are survey averages for FY2025. Respondent counts Average net returns Spending-rate table

NCSE measureFY2025 average
One-year net return11.0%
Five-year annualized net return10.8%
Ten-year annualized net return8.0%
Effective spending rate4.5%
Net returns and size-band average. FY2025 endpoints only; UCLA Foundation. Net returns, per UC endowment report.
Net returns and size-band average. FY2025 endpoints only; UCLA Foundation. Net returns, per UC endowment report.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $1B to $5B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $1B to $5B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025

NCSE returns are net of external management fees and expenses for periods ended June 30, 2025. A portfolio reported on another cost convention or fiscal-year end describes a different result. Survey allocation definitions

Public records and reporting dates

The official investment report supplies the portfolio figures and measurement dates on this page. The institution or related reporting entity also has a public nonprofit filing record. Tax-return assets and expenses cover that legal filer and can be broader than its endowment. Nonprofit filing record

Sources

  1. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Endowment-Market-Values-for-US-and-Canadian-Institutions-FINAL.xlsx
  2. https://ucop.edu/investment-office/investment-reports/annual-reports/annual-endowment-report-2024-25.pdf
  3. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/research/Final-Endowment-Market-Values--2023-to-1974-Revised.xlsx
  4. https://www.congress.gov/119/plaws/publ21/PLAW-119publ21.pdf
  5. https://www.irs.gov/charities-non-profits/irc-section-4940d-exemption-for-certain-operating-foundations
  6. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Number-of-NCSE-Participants-FINAL.pdf
  7. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--10-Year-Returns-by-Size-and-Type-FINAL.pdf
  8. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Spending-Rates-FINAL.pdf
  9. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Summary-Asset-Allocations-FINAL.pdf
  10. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/952250801
  11. https://endowments.com/
  12. https://familyoffices.com/

Related profiles

Lists that include UCLA Foundation

Endowments by Size Band study

UCLA Foundation Endowment: Size and Returns | Endowments.com
Family Office Club Events
Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot): (808) 600-9260
Endowments.com
Loading the directory…
Could not load data/endowments.json ({{ err }}).
Family Office Club: since 2007, 17M members, 340+ events

Endowment Fund Directory

The #1 most in-depth guide to endowment funds with in-depth profiles, infographics, resources, and research

What's inside Endowments.com

Directory · Research · Resources
Richard C. Wilson

Everything on this site is free.

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I would rather build a real relationship than sell you something. I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site.

Endowments are some of the most studied investors in the world, and the numbers are scattered across financial reports, press releases and student newspapers. This site puts each endowment's figures in one place, from its own reports first, names every source, and says plainly when a number has not been published.

Years operating Family Office Club19
In-person events a year16
Events hosted300+
Member transactions$1B+
Start here

What are you trying to do?

I run a fund and want endowment LPs
Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in.
For Fund Managers
I work in an endowment investment office
Is your profile right? Correct it or claim it. It is free.
For Investment Offices
I am a trustee, donor or researcher
Compare value, returns and spending across endowments, with the source and the date behind every number.
For Trustees and Researchers
Benchmark study

{{ study.title }}

{{ study.desc }}

{{ studyImg }}
Source: NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 · Data through FY2025

Featured guides

All {{ guideCount }} guides
{{ g.topic }}
{{ g.title }}
{{ g.desc }}
From the directory

By type

Playbooks

Events

Meet endowment and family office capital in person.

All events

We run 16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, in NYC, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills. 300 of them over 19 years.

"The Family Office Club is unique as a community. The thing I admire about you is that you started with your family, making that a priority."

Todd Heiner · centimillionaire, co-founder of Express Locations
Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so.

Read the methodology

Endowment directory

{{ dirIntro }}

{{ rowsLabel }}Clear filters
{{ h.label }} {{ h.arrow }}{{ h.label }}
{{ r.name }}{{ r.name }} {{ r.type }} {{ r.loc }} {{ r.size }} {{ r.fy }}

Size is the tracked endowment market value in USD, mostly from the NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 public table. Linked names open a full profile with the institution's own latest figures, dates and currency.

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ s.url }}

Lists that include {{ p.institution }}

{{ art.kicker }}

{{ art.title }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Download the data

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ art.moreTitle }}

Guides

{{ guidesIntro }}

{{ gg.topic }}

{{ gg.count }}

Page not found

This page does not exist or has moved.

Endowment directoryGuidesHome
Home / Research

{{ rankTitle }}

Ranked from published profiles only, using each endowment's latest reported fiscal year. The basis and date sit next to every number. {{ stats.queued }} endowments are still in research and will be added as their profiles publish.

# Endowment Country Value Return Fiscal year and date
{{ r.rank }} {{ r.name }} {{ r.country }} {{ r.value }} {{ r.ret }} {{ r.fy }}, {{ r.asOf }}
Home / Playbooks

What are you actually dealing with right now?

Practical guides for raising from, working with and running endowments. Each one is being written now and will publish here, free.

{{ pb.title }}
{{ pb.blurb }}
In research
Home / For Fund Managers

Tell me your situation.

Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in. I read these myself.

Text (808) 600-9260Not an AI bot WhatsApp(808) 600-9260 EmailRichard@Endowments.com
Useful to include
Fund size, strategy, asset class and geography
Fund number and track record
Endowment, foundation or institutional LPs already in
Which endowments on this site you think fit, and why
Home / For Investment Offices

Is your profile right?

Correct it or claim it. It is free. Send the page, the change and a public source, and we will update it and note the date.

Report a correctionRichard@Endowments.com Claim your profileAdd your latest report, team and how managers should reach you Text or WhatsApp(808) 600-9260
Home / For Trustees and Researchers

Compare endowments on the same terms.

For board members, investment committee members, donors, students and journalists. Every profile shows value, return, spending and allocation with the fiscal year and source next to each figure.

Largest endowmentsBy value, latest fiscal year Returns by fiscal yearRanked by latest reported return Reading an endowment reportWhat each headline figure counts Glossary{{ glossaryCount }} endowment terms, defined
Home / Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. We start with the institution's own financial report, investment office report and press release, then official filings, then third-party reporting. Figures are tied to a fiscal year, because most endowments report once a year. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so rather than estimate it silently.

Status labels

Multiple sourcesTwo or more independent sources agree.
Single sourceOne source, usually the institution itself.
EstimateA third-party estimate or a conversion. Not stated by the institution.
PendingShown for structure; the figure or its source is still being confirmed.

Glossary

{{ g.term }}{{ g.def }}

Corrections

To report an error or ask for a change or removal, email Richard@Endowments.com or text (808) 600-9260.

Home / Answers

Answers

Short answers to the questions people ask most about endowment funds.

{{ a.q }}

{{ a.a }}

Home / Events

Family Office Club events

16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, plus monthly webinars. Run by Family Office Club.

{{ ev.date }} {{ ev.title }} {{ ev.place }}
See every event on FamilyOffices.com
Home / About

About Endowments.com

Richard C. Wilson

What this site is

Endowments.com is a research resource on university, college and foundation endowments. It profiles 775 endowments, including university, college, foundation and hospital endowments, built from each institution's own reports and public filings, and runs the Endowments by Size Band benchmark study. Every figure carries its source and date.

Richard C. Wilson, founder of the Family Office Club

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago at 26, as my 12th startup and the first one that worked. All three of my daughters are in the business with me now. My father raised $1 billion for non-profits before I ever started, so I grew up watching this.

Since then: 300+ in-person events, 1,500 investors on stage, 250+ family offices created or formalized, 46 transactions off my own balance sheet, and CIO of a $180M single family office.

I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site. I built it because endowment figures are spread across hundreds of reports and press releases, and few places put them side by side with sources.

Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com.

Keep exploring

Richard C. Wilson

{{ contact.title }}

I'm Richard C. Wilson. I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com. Thank you.

{{ contact.cta }}

This page is for general information only and is not investment, tax or legal advice. Figures come from the public sources listed and may have changed.