Scripps College: endowment and investment office

Scripps College reports USD 541.7 million in endowment net assets for June 30, 2025. Balance source

Scripps' FY2025 financial report gives $541.659866 million in total endowment net assets. It separates $57.944006 million without donor restrictions and $483.715860 million with donor restrictions. The latter category includes term endowment, perpetual funds and accumulated earnings subject to California's institutional funds law. These are restriction classifications, not investment asset classes. Official report

Key facts

Reported value
USD 541.7 million
As of
June 30, 2025
Portfolio
College endowment net assets
Location
Claremont, CA
Portfolio facts. Scripps College
Portfolio facts. Scripps College
Data through FY2025

Balance reference

Endowment size and reporting scope

For Scripps College, the common-year comparison starts with USD 503.038 million in FY2024. The FY2025 balance is USD 536.115 million. Those closing values describe the named respondent's resources. Gifts and distributions affect the change alongside investments, so the 6.58% movement cannot establish a portfolio return. Survey scope and definitions

The official USD 541.660 million figure and the FY2025 survey's USD 536.115 million describe their respective dates and reporting categories. The official balance retains its stated label, endowment net assets. A change in currency, period or included accounts can produce a different total; the figures are presented separately. Official financial scope

Endowment value over time. Scripps College. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Endowment value over time. Scripps College. NACUBO respondent values; USD millions. Gifts and spending affect balances.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025
Fiscal yearSurvey endowment, USD millions
FY2016295.782
FY2017336.710
FY2018362.046
FY2019375.585
FY2020374.862
FY2021540.009
FY2022460.616
FY2023478.732
FY2024503.038
FY2025536.115

The FY2025 survey value for Scripps College is USD 536.115 million, compared with USD 503.038 million for FY2024. The USD 33.077 million movement is 6.58% of the earlier balance. It includes changes in investments as well as additions and distributions. NACUBO explicitly distinguishes this change in market value from an investment rate of return. FY2025 respondent values and definitions

The available history begins in FY2016 at USD 295.782 million and ends in FY2025 at USD 536.115 million. The change across those observations is USD 240.333 million. The smallest reported balance in the displayed series is USD 295.782 million in FY2016; the largest is USD 540.009 million in FY2021. These are closing asset values. They do not show how much of a year's movement came from new gifts, spending or investment results. NACUBO historical workbook

Spending policy and payout

The FY2025 NCSE $500M to $1B group reports an average effective spending rate of 4.3%. That is a survey-group statistic and is not assigned as Scripps College's policy. An institution's own spending rule can use several prior valuation dates, a prior-year dollar draw or additional adjustments. Its approved appropriation and the cash ultimately spent by a department can differ in timing. NCSE spending-rate table

For Scripps College, the USD 536.115 million survey balance does not disclose a dollar payout. The peer spending rate above describes other respondents in a common size group. It cannot identify this institution's approved draw or the purposes of distributions. Donor restrictions and the policy's averaging dates remain relevant to annual support. Spending measures

Governance and investment office

The Scripps Board of Trustees designates some assets to function as endowment. Donor instructions and California's institutional funds law govern appropriations from restricted accounts. Pooled investment management preserves those account-level legal restrictions. Investment governance

Federal excise tax on investment income

Public Law 119-21 changed Section 4968 for tax years beginning after December 31, 2025. Applicable private institutions must have at least 3,000 tuition-paying students in the preceding tax year, with more than half located in the United States, and student-adjusted endowment of at least $500,000. The rates are 1.4% from $500,000 through $750,000 per student, 4% above $750,000 through $2 million, and 8% above $2 million. Enacted law, Section 70415

An institution's tax tier requires its statutory asset base, eligible student count and related-organization treatment. The survey's closing market value does not supply that calculation. No institution-specific rate is assigned without an institutional disclosure. A campus's enrollment in a public fact sheet can differ from the daily-average, full-time-equivalent count required by the law.

The tax is imposed on net investment income. Student-adjusted endowment uses prior-year fair values for assets other than those used directly for exempt purposes. The statute also contains student-count and related-organization provisions. A spending policy applies to an institution's chosen asset base, while the tax applies to investment income under federal rules.

FY2025 size-band comparison

The FY2025 survey value of USD 536.115 million places this respondent in the $500M to $1B band. The published band contains 74 respondents and USD 54.8 billion of aggregate assets. Its average five-year annualized net return is 10.7%, and its ten-year average is 7.8%. The size classification follows the survey-year balance even where an official disclosure on this page uses a later year or a different portfolio scope. NCSE size groups NCSE average net returns

NCSE measureFY2025 average
One-year net return10.8%
Five-year annualized net return10.7%
Ten-year annualized net return7.8%
Effective spending rate4.3%
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $500M to $1B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Size-band asset mix. FY2025 NCSE $500M to $1B average. Survey weights, separate from institution holdings.
Source: NACUBO · Data through FY2025

The peer mix describes average reported exposures within one size band. It does not reveal individual securities or the availability of cash at a particular institution. Respondents can also use different policy benchmarks. NCSE returns are net of external management fees and expenses for periods ending June 30, 2025; those periods and fee labels govern any numerical return comparison on this page. NCSE allocation definitions

Public records and reporting dates

The ProPublica nonprofit API identifies the legal filer as Scripps College, EIN 951664123. Its available filing for the year ended June 30, 2023 reports total filer assets of USD 717.089 million, revenue of USD 113.383 million, expenses of USD 115.636 million. These are filer-wide amounts, which can include buildings, operating resources and other assets outside the endowment. The filing period is retained separately from the current investment disclosures. ProPublica structured filing data

Sources

  1. https://www.scrippscollege.edu/about/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/2024-2025-Financial-Report-1.pdf
  2. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Endowment-Market-Values-for-US-and-Canadian-Institutions-FINAL.xlsx
  3. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/research/Final-Endowment-Market-Values--2023-to-1974-Revised.xlsx
  4. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Spending-Rates-FINAL.pdf
  5. https://www.congress.gov/119/plaws/publ21/PLAW-119publ21.pdf
  6. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Number-of-NCSE-Participants-FINAL.pdf
  7. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--10-Year-Returns-by-Size-and-Type-FINAL.pdf
  8. https://edge.sitecorecloud.io/nacubo1-nacubo-prd-dc8b/media/Nacubo/Documents/EndowmentFiles/2025-NCSE-Public-Tables--Summary-Asset-Allocations-FINAL.pdf
  9. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/api/v2/organizations/951664123.json

Related profiles

Lists that include Scripps College

Endowments by Size Band study

Scripps College Endowment: Size and Returns | Endowments.com
Family Office Club Events
Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot): (808) 600-9260
Endowments.com
Loading the directory…
Could not load data/endowments.json ({{ err }}).
Family Office Club: since 2007, 17M members, 340+ events

Endowment Fund Directory

The #1 most in-depth guide to endowment funds with in-depth profiles, infographics, resources, and research

What's inside Endowments.com

Directory · Research · Resources
Richard C. Wilson

Everything on this site is free.

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I would rather build a real relationship than sell you something. I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site.

Endowments are some of the most studied investors in the world, and the numbers are scattered across financial reports, press releases and student newspapers. This site puts each endowment's figures in one place, from its own reports first, names every source, and says plainly when a number has not been published.

Years operating Family Office Club19
In-person events a year16
Events hosted300+
Member transactions$1B+
Start here

What are you trying to do?

I run a fund and want endowment LPs
Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in.
For Fund Managers
I work in an endowment investment office
Is your profile right? Correct it or claim it. It is free.
For Investment Offices
I am a trustee, donor or researcher
Compare value, returns and spending across endowments, with the source and the date behind every number.
For Trustees and Researchers
Benchmark study

{{ study.title }}

{{ study.desc }}

{{ studyImg }}
Source: NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 · Data through FY2025

Featured guides

All {{ guideCount }} guides
{{ g.topic }}
{{ g.title }}
{{ g.desc }}
From the directory

By type

Playbooks

Events

Meet endowment and family office capital in person.

All events

We run 16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, in NYC, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills. 300 of them over 19 years.

"The Family Office Club is unique as a community. The thing I admire about you is that you started with your family, making that a priority."

Todd Heiner · centimillionaire, co-founder of Express Locations
Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so.

Read the methodology

Endowment directory

{{ dirIntro }}

{{ rowsLabel }}Clear filters
{{ h.label }} {{ h.arrow }}{{ h.label }}
{{ r.name }}{{ r.name }} {{ r.type }} {{ r.loc }} {{ r.size }} {{ r.fy }}

Size is the tracked endowment market value in USD, mostly from the NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments FY2025 public table. Linked names open a full profile with the institution's own latest figures, dates and currency.

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ s.url }}

Lists that include {{ p.institution }}

{{ art.kicker }}

{{ art.title }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

{{ s.title }}

{{ t.rate }}
{{ t.range }}
Applies here
{{ s.tierNote }}

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ b.text }}

{{ c.v }}
{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}
{{ b.imgEl }}
{{ b.alt }}
{{ b.note }}

Download the data

Frequently asked questions

{{ f.q }}+

{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

Sources

  1. {{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}{{ g.text }}

{{ art.moreTitle }}

Guides

{{ guidesIntro }}

{{ gg.topic }}

{{ gg.count }}

Page not found

This page does not exist or has moved.

Endowment directoryGuidesHome
Home / Research

{{ rankTitle }}

Ranked from published profiles only, using each endowment's latest reported fiscal year. The basis and date sit next to every number. {{ stats.queued }} endowments are still in research and will be added as their profiles publish.

# Endowment Country Value Return Fiscal year and date
{{ r.rank }} {{ r.name }} {{ r.country }} {{ r.value }} {{ r.ret }} {{ r.fy }}, {{ r.asOf }}
Home / Playbooks

What are you actually dealing with right now?

Practical guides for raising from, working with and running endowments. Each one is being written now and will publish here, free.

{{ pb.title }}
{{ pb.blurb }}
In research
Home / For Fund Managers

Tell me your situation.

Tell me what you are raising for. I will tell you which endowments look like a fit, and which rooms are worth being in. I read these myself.

Text (808) 600-9260Not an AI bot WhatsApp(808) 600-9260 EmailRichard@Endowments.com
Useful to include
Fund size, strategy, asset class and geography
Fund number and track record
Endowment, foundation or institutional LPs already in
Which endowments on this site you think fit, and why
Home / For Investment Offices

Is your profile right?

Correct it or claim it. It is free. Send the page, the change and a public source, and we will update it and note the date.

Report a correctionRichard@Endowments.com Claim your profileAdd your latest report, team and how managers should reach you Text or WhatsApp(808) 600-9260
Home / For Trustees and Researchers

Compare endowments on the same terms.

For board members, investment committee members, donors, students and journalists. Every profile shows value, return, spending and allocation with the fiscal year and source next to each figure.

Largest endowmentsBy value, latest fiscal year Returns by fiscal yearRanked by latest reported return Reading an endowment reportWhat each headline figure counts Glossary{{ glossaryCount }} endowment terms, defined
Home / Methodology

How we check facts

Each fact names its source and its date. We start with the institution's own financial report, investment office report and press release, then official filings, then third-party reporting. Figures are tied to a fiscal year, because most endowments report once a year. When two sources disagree, we show both. When an endowment has not published a number, we say so rather than estimate it silently.

Status labels

Multiple sourcesTwo or more independent sources agree.
Single sourceOne source, usually the institution itself.
EstimateA third-party estimate or a conversion. Not stated by the institution.
PendingShown for structure; the figure or its source is still being confirmed.

Glossary

{{ g.term }}{{ g.def }}

Corrections

To report an error or ask for a change or removal, email Richard@Endowments.com or text (808) 600-9260.

Home / Answers

Answers

Short answers to the questions people ask most about endowment funds.

{{ a.q }}

{{ a.a }}

Home / Events

Family Office Club events

16 in-person events a year, 4 Super Summits and 12 masterminds, plus monthly webinars. Run by Family Office Club.

{{ ev.date }} {{ ev.title }} {{ ev.place }}
See every event on FamilyOffices.com
Home / About

About Endowments.com

Richard C. Wilson

What this site is

Endowments.com is a research resource on university, college and foundation endowments. It profiles 775 endowments, including university, college, foundation and hospital endowments, built from each institution's own reports and public filings, and runs the Endowments by Size Band benchmark study. Every figure carries its source and date.

Richard C. Wilson, founder of the Family Office Club

I started Family Office Club 19 years ago at 26, as my 12th startup and the first one that worked. All three of my daughters are in the business with me now. My father raised $1 billion for non-profits before I ever started, so I grew up watching this.

Since then: 300+ in-person events, 1,500 investors on stage, 250+ family offices created or formalized, 46 transactions off my own balance sheet, and CIO of a $180M single family office.

I am not a broker. I am not a bank. I do not charge for anything on this site. I built it because endowment figures are spread across hundreds of reports and press releases, and few places put them side by side with sources.

Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com.

Keep exploring

Richard C. Wilson

{{ contact.title }}

I'm Richard C. Wilson. I started Family Office Club 19 years ago. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@Endowments.com. Thank you.

{{ contact.cta }}

This page is for general information only and is not investment, tax or legal advice. Figures come from the public sources listed and may have changed.